Tuesday, January 18, 2011

FHA Reverse Mortgage Equity Conversion Loan

FHA Reverse Mortgage

The FHA reverse mortgage loan is known as HECM – Home Equity Conversion Mortgage.

A FHA reverse mortgage is of course guaranteed by the FHA.

There are some general requirements that a borrower must meet in order to qualify for a FHA reverse mortgage loan. Below I have listed just the very basic FHA reverse mortgage qualifications for borrowers interested in utilizing this financial tool.

Qualifications for FHA Reverse Mortgage

  • At least 62  years or older
  • One - Four Unit dwellings
  • Own the home, or the existing traditional forward mortgage is close to be paid off more specifically it can be paid with the proceeds obtained from the reverse mortgage loan.

Related Resources

How to Refinance and Lower Your Mortgage Payment